top of page


The Three prime areas are:

Personal, social and emotional development:

  • making relationships

  • self -confidence and self-awareness

  • managing feelings and behaviour.

Physical development:

  • moving and handling

  • health and self-care.

Communication and language:

  • listening and attention

  • understanding

  • speaking


These prime areas help children to develop and learn, and become ready for school. As well as the three prime areas, early years providers will also plan activities in the following areas of learning and development, known as specific areas.

The Four specific areas are:


  • reading

  • writing


  • numbers

  • shape, space and measure

Understanding the world:

  • people and communities

  • the world

  • technology

Expressive arts and design:

  • exploring and using media & materials

  • being imaginative

The EYFS is changing in September 2021
Info is being this space

Rainbow's Nursery
Take a look inside! 

bottom of page